About Indian Country Today

Contact us | Submit news releases | Advertise info | Ownership | Submit an op-ed | Get our mobile app

Indian Country Today is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. Indian Country Today is the largest news site that covers tribes and Native people throughout the Americas. Our primary focus is delivering news to a national audience to your mobile phone.

Indian Country Today is public media. We are a nonprofit news organization that sustains itself with funding from members, donors, foundations, and supporters. We also sell advertising in a variety of formats.

OUR CONTACT INFORMATION

Washington bureau, Indian Country Today
1516 P Street NW
Washington, DC 20005

Indian Country Today

Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Arizona State University
555 N Central Avenue, Suite 500
Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Opinion Editorials

We welcome a wide variety of view points in our opinion pages. To submit an op-ed send the material (and if possible, a photograph) to Opinion@IndianCountryToday.com

Press Releases

We also publish press releases of interest to our readers. To submit a press release for publication (The Press Pool) send to PressRelease@IndianCountryToday.com. Please include a photo with your press release.

Freelance Submissions

Indian Country Today has a limited budget for freelance material from stories, photo essays, nonfiction graphic novels, videos, and broadcast packages. To pitch a potential story, send an e-mail to associate editor Vincent Schilling at VSchilling@IndianCountryToday.com

When pitching a potential story, include a summary.

Native Media

We welcome tribal media to publish their content with us. Email the text and multimedia components to nativemedia@indiancountrytoday.com.

Editorial team

Mark Trahant, Editor
MTrahant@IndianCountryToday.com

Patty Talahongva, Executive Producer
ptalahongva@indiancountrytoday.com

Tomas Karmelo Amaya, Creative Director
tomas@IndianCountryToday.com

Vincent Schilling, Associate Editor
VSchilling@IndianCountryToday.com

Jourdan Bennett-Begaye, Washington Editor
jbennett-begaye@indiancountrytoday.com

Kolby KickingWoman, Reporter-Producer
kkickingwoman@indiancountrytoday.com

Aliyah Chavez, Reporter-Producer
achavez@indiancountrytoday.com

Business operations

Sky Vasquez
Director of Business Development, Indian Country Today
svasquez@indiancountrytoday.com

Ownership

The Indian Country Today editorial team operates independently as a digital journalism enterprise.

Indian Country Today is a not-for-profit Limited Liability Company owned by the non-profit arm of the National Congress of American Indians. Kevin Allis, is the chief executive officer and Jamie Gomez is the chief of staff.

Indian Country Today's board of directors: Rebecca Crooks-Stratton, Larry EchoHawk, and Rhonda LeValdo.

NCAI: Contact press@ncai.org

Underwriting and sales

Heather Donovan, Sales Manager
HDonovan@IndianCountryToday.com

Mobile Apps

Are you using the new mobile platform? Get Indian Country Today on your phone with apps from The News Maven.

iPhone version

Google Play Store

Comments